Basic Image Editing

Today I was feeling a bit creative than usual so I picked out a photo I took during my recent road-trip and tried doing some image processing with Photoshop. As you guys might have read in my About Me section, I have been an Advertising & Media student so I have had numerous courses regarding “Image Editing/Manipulation” and “Digital Illustration”, was even lucky enough to have a separate course “Photography” that my prestigious university offered in my program. So that has naturally polished my Adobe (PS & Illustrator) skills and I’m quite proficient in using such softwares.. although did I mention somewhere before I can be lazy at times? 😛

So let me share a very BASIC kind of image editing which involves color correction that I did step-by-step.

  • As you can see, despite of the beautiful scenery of the valleys captured, this photo lacks color richness. This requires some editing!

 

1

1

 

  • So first I started off with balancing its “LEVELS”. Now in my style of editing, I only play with ‘Midtones’ and ‘Shadows’. I simply avoid messing with ‘Highlights’ or ‘brightness’ unnecessarily because it just washes out your picture’s important details.
2

2

  • After adjusting its “LEVELS”, I virtually divided the photo into 2 parts: 1- The top part mostly composed of sky and clouds. 2- The lower part composed of the mountains. Now focusing on the top part I felt the sky needs more ‘blue’ and the clouds need more pronounced ‘shadows’ and ‘highlights’. So without making use of the “Brightness & Contrast” feature that I DESPISE the most, I just adjusted the selective colors: White, Blue & Cyan. Now you can see the nice blue color of the sky has come out and the clouds have a bit more details with the shadows and highlights:
3

3

  • Time to focus on the mountains. They looked dull and I felt the picture had not justified how beautifully the sun glared on these mountains to illuminate some parts of them and create mysterious shadows. Therefore, using just reds and yellows, I enhanced these selective colors to get this:
4

4

  • Finally, for the finishing touch I adjusted it’s “Vibrance” and slightly tweaked the highlights to further enhance the color richness. The result:
Final

Final

 

So definitely now the photo looks much better and more ‘scenic’ than the original. This is the first time ever I have shared my secret of editing, even THIS basic. I usually avoid doing that 😛

Hope you enjoyed this simple walk-through of my basic editing process 😀

Original Vs. Edited

Original Vs. Edited

 

6 thoughts on “Basic Image Editing

  1. Very useful post! Thanks for sharing your photo-editing wisdom 🙂

  2. What a huge difference! You made it real easy to follow too 🙂

  3. Wow, what a difference! Beautiful job!! 😀

What do you think?

